Welcome to the Western District of Wisconsin


For attorneys, the procedure to open a new civil case has changed. You may request a shell case from the clerk’s office or use the self-serve option in ECF. DO NOT DO BOTH.

The self-serve option is available 24 hours a day seven days a week. However, the court does not provide after-hours support. Please review these instructions before you open a case.

Court Information

Chief U.S. District Judge
James D. Peterson

U.S. District Judge
William M. Conley

U.S. District Judge
Barbara B. Crabb

U.S. Magistrate Judge
Stephen L. Crocker

Clerk of Court
Peter Oppeneer

United States District Court
120 N. Henry St., Rm. 320
Madison, WI 53703
Phone:  608-264-5156
Fax:  608-264-5925

Google Map

ECF Help Desk:
866-241-7123 or

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. CST

News & Announcements

Mon, 10/18/2021
The U.S. District Court for the Western District of Wisconsin is seeking an Official Court Reporter. More »
Wed, 10/06/2021
The U.S. District Court, the U.S. Bankruptcy Court, and the office of U.S. Probation and Pretrial Services will be closed for Columbus Day on Monday, October 11, 2021. More »
Mon, 10/04/2021
The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit is accepting applications for the position of Federal Public Defender for the Southern District of Illinois. More »
Fri, 09/17/2021
On September 21, 2021, the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Wisconsin will hold a video status conference at 9:00 AM in the consolidated cases of 21-cv-512 and 21-cv-534. More »

Pro Bono Honor Roll

The attorneys listed below are recognized for their service in representing indigent plaintiffs in 2019-2021.  Please see the complete list of attorneys recognized for their contribution.

  • Tomislav Kuzmanovic
  • Andrew Trevino
  • Mollie Kugler
  • Skye Parr
  • Catarina Colón
  • Thomas Heneghan
  • Trevor Brown
  • JoLynn Markison
  • Mriana Al’Taqatqa
  • Anabel Cassady
  • Jacob Harris
  • Paul Cranley
  • Caitlin M. Madden
  • Vanessa Kuettel
  • Jeff Scott Olson
  • Lonnie Story
  • Lonnie Story
  • Debbie Machalow
  • Mark Hancock
  • Stephen J. Eisenberg
Subscribe to Western District of Wisconsin RSS